2018 Founders Cup Awards

2018 Founders Cup results

GOLD: Elora Mohawks (Ontario)

SILVER: Seneca WarChiefs (FNLA)

BRONZE: Coquitlam Adanacs (British Columbia)

Fourth: Manitoba Blizzard (Manitoba)

Fifth: Calgary Shamrocks (Alberta)

Sixth: North Shore Kodiaks (Quebec)

Medicine Men (FNLA), Saskatchewan SWAT (Saskatchewan)

Player Awards

Tournament MVP: Clay Scanlan, Seneca WarChiefs

Offensive Player of the Tournament: Kelson Borisenko, Manitoba Blizzard

Defensive Player of the Tournament: Matthew Froese, Coquitlam Adanacs

Transition Player of the Tournament: Ron John, Seneca WarChiefs

Goaltender of the Tournament: Landon Kells, Elora Mohawks

All-Tournament (Group A)

Kelson Borisenko

Bryce Dueck, Saskatchewan SWAT

Landon Kells

Dalton McGinnis, Mohawk Medicine Men

Cole Spear, Elora Mohawks

Kurtis Woodland, Elora Mohawks

All-Tournament (Group B)

Troi Benedict, Seneca WarChiefs

Beau Chetner, Coquitlam Adanacs

Anthony Desmarais, North Shore Kodiaks

Ron John

Kale Lundell, Calgary Shamrocks

Clay Scanlan



FNJBLL Finals schedule

Another regular season is complete with the Seneca WarChiefs (12-0) capturing their fourth-straight title. 2018 marks the third undefeated regular season for the WarChiefs who have medaled at all four (two silver, two bronze) of their trips to Founders Cup.

Newcomer Tyendinaga Thunder (7-6) will be the opponent when the best-of three series gets underway Thursday night at Deseronto Community Centre. Tyendinaga swept the semifinal series in two games against Founders Cup host Mohawk Medicine Men last week winning 15-14 (July 11) and 16-5 (July 15).


Game 1:  Thursday, 8 PM at Deseronto Community Centre

Game 2:  Saturday, 7 PM at Cattaraugus Community Center

if necessary

Game 3:  Sunday, 1 PM at Cattaraugus Community Center

2018 Founders’ Cup Junior B Championship Moved From Seneca to Akwesasne

CLA Press Release

OTTAWA, ON – It is with mixed emotions that the Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) announces that the 2018 Founders Cup Junior B box lacrosse national championship will move from Seneca Nation territory in New York to the Mohawk Nation territory in Akwesasne, Ontario. The event will now take place from August 12-19, 2018 at the A’nowara’ko:wa Arena.
The CLA Box Sector had approved in principal that the 2018 Founder’s Cup be held in Seneca, New York, on the condition that game officials could successfully and legally enter the U.S. for the tournament. The host organizing committee – which included the First National Lacrosse Association (FNLA), First Nations Junior B Lacrosse League (FNJBLL) and Seneca WarChiefs – was given a deadline of June 15, 2018 to have a confirmation of work visas for all travelling officials. However, despite their hard work and diligent pursuit, the hosts were unable to secure work visas for officials by the required deadline.
“The CLA would like to thank the FNLA and FNJBLL for their hard work in seeking a solution to the cross-border issue,” stated Ron McQuarrie, Box Sector Chair, Canadian Lacrosse Association. “The lack of success on this issue is a result of factors beyond the control of the host organizing committee.”
As a result, the difficult decision was made last week to relocate the 2018 Founders’ Cup to a Canadian location. At an executive Board meeting on June 18, the FNJBLL announced that it had selected the Mohawk Medicine Men as the new host team for the event.
“It’s an unfortunate situation for the Seneca WarChiefs organization as they put a lot of time and resources to have the games played on their homelands,” said FNJBLL Commissioner Robert Burr. “However, we are confident that the Mohawk Medicine Men will put on a first-class tournament.”
The recently renovated A’nowara’ko:wa Arena, commonly known as the ‘Turtle Dome’, sits along the shores of the St-Lawrence River and last hosted the Founders’ Cup in 1998.
The Junior B national championship, which has been won by Ontario Lacrosse Association representatives for the past seven years, will feature a handful of teams from Canadian and American leagues.
“It’s been 20 years since this tournament was held in Akwesasne and we’re going to make sure its return to our community is one of the best ever,” added Kariwate Mitchell, General Manager of the host Medicine Men.
Additional information on the event will be posted online in the coming months. We invite you to visit founderscup.lacrosse.ca and follow us on Twitter to stay up-to-date.

FNJBLL welcome Syracuse Mountain Men

The Syracuse Mountain Men have been approved as a new member of the First Nations Junior B Lacrosse League beginning with the 2018 season.

Syracuse are led by coach Michael Gernatt, who was the first-ever head coach at Potomac State College of West Virginia University guiding the Catamounts to a 3-7 record in 2015.

Team Iroquois Tryout Info

WHEN: April 29-30, 2017

WHERE: Onondaga Nation

Registration starts at 8:00 AM

Player must attend all three tryout sessions. Tryout fee of $50 – includes a pinnie

Saturday, April 29, 2017
Onondaga Field House, Onondaga Nation
Peewee: 9-11 AM
Bantam: 11 AM-1 PM
Midget: 1-3 PM

Peewee: 3-4 PM
Bantam: 4-5 PM
Midget: 5-6 PM

Sunday, April 30, 2017
Onondaga Field House, Onondaga Nation
Peewee: 11 AM-1 PM
Bantam: 1-3 PM
Midget: 3-5 PM

All players must bring photocopies of the following documents:

  • Tribal enrolment/Status card
  • birth certificate
  • proof of health insurance (OHIP/QHIP or private insurance)

Iroquois West Win Gold At WJLC

After seven games in four days Iroquois West won the gold medal at the 2016 World Junior Lacrosse Championship at the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena. West defeated the Jr. CLax All-Stars 9-8 in the Gold Medal game.

West were one of four Iroquois teams participating in the 11-team tournament. All four teams won on the final day with three teams earning medals.

August 27 results:

GOLD- Iroquois West 9, Jr. CLax All-Stars 8

BRONZE- Iroquois Grand River 10, Canada West 5

5th PLACE- Iroquoois East 11, Team Ireland 1

7th PLACE- Team Czech Republic 7, Team USA 6 (OT)

August 26 result:

U17 CHAMPIONSHIP- Iroquois 11, Canada 10

Hamilton Bengals (0-2) played both Iroquois U17 and Canada U17.